Bank Holidays
Callington Heritage Centre

By: Callington Heritage Centre
Added: 28 August 2015

See the site

Prior to 1834 the Bank of England observed about 33 saint's days and religious festivals as holidays, when the banks would be closed.

In 1834 these were reduced to 4 days, 1st May, 1st November, Good Friday and Christmas Day.

In 1871 Sir John Lubbock introduced the Bank Holidays Act with the concept of holidays with pay. These were designated as Easter Monday, the first Monday in August, the 26th December (Boxing Day) and Whit monday. There were some differences relating to Scotland and Ireland. Christmas Day would have been a public holiday.

In 1965 the August Bank Holiday was moved to the end of the month and Whit Monday was replaced by the Spring Bank Holiday, the last Monday in May.

The Banking and Financial Dealings Act of 1971 is in force today and provides England and Wales with eight permanent bank and public holidays.

Latest news